Reporting Live from Thailand

Standard

Bangkok, Thailand

Current Location: Bangkok

So I arrived last night in Thailand around 11:30pm. I proceeded to the “Foreign Passport” lines and my backpack grew increasingly heavy on my shoulders. Between flights that took 18 or so hours and flying across 9 (?) time zones, I had a sore back and the longest May 29th of my entire short life. As I approached a stern looking Thai airport official, he looked over my documents and then told me to look at the camera. As I groggily refocus my tired eyes and jet-lagged mind, I’m so glad the Thai Crown Prince and Princess will be able to see my best side.  I smile for my picture trying to at least look awake and then think twice about whether or not I was supposed to. Then Thai passport officer looks at me. “NO smiling,” he said commandingly. There was my answer, yet in the haze of jet-lag, I’m pretty sure the royal family’s souvenir of me is somewhat of a smirk, trying my hardest to look serious in a photo (check out my high school senior pictures if you want evidence, I was not meant to take serious photos…the very idea of someone telling me not to smile is enough to make me laugh midshutter of a photoshoot). Somewhere in there the officer made some comment (at least, I think) teasing me about how I smiled anyway, but my mind was already elsewhere…I needed a shower and a bed. ASAP.

Getting my baggage and finding the free shuttle to our $25/night resort and spa was thankfully uneventful. Though just after midnight the airport started blasting music and cheers erupted on some higher floor. It sounded like a concert, but the occasion wasn’t apparent. Clearly, this was entrance music for my travel buddy, Allison, and my arrival to Thailand. Doesn’t everyone have theme music after all? I just had to go to Thailand to find mine!

Today…sleeping, adjusting to the time difference, $10/hr massages, and a Bangkok food market are most likely on our agenda. Then tomorrow? The wandering continues!

Next Stop: New Delhi

“Happy trails to you, until we meet again/happy trails to you, keep smiling til then…”

About mollyocon

I am a PhD student in history and philosophy of education, with an MA in international politics. I love exploring cultures, the arts, literature, history (especially of the Oklahoma variety), travel, and people. Please follow my blogs: The Wanderlust Traveler, creator and primary blogger Past blogs: Spiritual Uprising Magazine, Blog, and UP Ministries, co-founder (the blog is now defunct, but past issues of our e-magazine can be found here: http://www.kaitlynwilly.com/spiritual-uprising-magazine.html) IPSO AU, administrator Arts and Entertainment at the University of Dallas, creator/primary blogger "I wanted to live deliberately, I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, To put to rout all that was not life and not when I had come to die Discover that I had not lived." --Henry David Thoreau "I get up every morning determined to both change the world and have one hell of a good time. Sometimes this makes planning my day really difficult." --E.B. White

5 responses »

  1. Molly, I enjoy your reflections. It’s become weird and pleasant to watch my brain take a new observation and reassemble the schema. It’s like I’m on the outside and the inside at the same time! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

