“There are less ants on the toilet and that makes me happy.”

Standard

I brought a notebook with me to write and reflect about my trip. My mother is such a talented journal-er that often when we talk and I am away her first question is, “Are you writing this down? Are you keeping a journal?”

Well unfortunately, between my blog and my research report, I can’t say I have that much energy to write more. Plus, as much as I love to read the journal my mother kept about me growing up, I hate rereading my old journal entries. I probably have 2 or 3 entries in 20 journals that span my nearly quarter of a century. The rest of the pages are blank.

My intentions are good. A travel journal. A prayer journal. A self-improvement journal. An inspiring quotes and poems journal. An overdramatic I’m 13 years old journal. A To-Do list journal (now that one was just depressing). A things I could do with my future journal…actually come to think of it, most of them fall in that category—even my first journal entry as a newly literate 2nd grader.

But let’s be honest. I’m not my mother and I don’t have her talent for keeping a journal. I’d like to think I got some of her talent for writing. I brought a journal with me on this adventure. I don’t think I can make a packing list without one. All of the pages sit next to my bed, neatly bound and blank. And waiting. Waiting for me to animate them.

But today, I thought of a new journal. I had a realization today as I was going to the bathroom (TMI?). There are less ants on the toilet today than yesterday, I thought when I turned on the light, and that put me in a better mood. Well, THIS ought to be an interesting journal, you’re thinking…where is this going?

My friend wrote an email to her mom that went something like this: “How am I? Well, our hot plate doesn’t work all of the time, the power goes out several times a day, our refrigerator is broken, we don’t really have real mattresses-more like mats, our air conditioner unit leaks so we have buckets under it. There are ants (and now flea-like creatures) in our bathroom and kitchen and food. We’re pretty much out of food because the monsoon has flooded the streets the last 3 days on the way home from work. But we’re doing okay.”

She read the litany to me and we agreed that all of that was true. We’re not whining about it, this is how things are. Do we get tired of it? Sometimes. Are we happy here? Absolutely. In fact, we laugh about things every day—usually caused by something in that litany. We’re doing just fine. More than anything, it’s just different. And that’s alright because we didn’t come here to acquire old experiences.

As we decided earlier in this experience, “What we’ve learned this summer is that attitude is everything.” It is very true and I am so thankful that we are both upbeat and adventurous. I could go into the “Well at least we have electricity”, “at least we have air-conditioning” mode, which is all true. But that’s not where I’m going with this.

I think after all of this that my journal is going to be one of reminders. That when I buy my first house or any house, I don’t need to have the best master bathroom to be happy. Or if I lose something material and can’t afford to replace, it’ll be okay. That I can in fact be happy and enjoy where I am and that moment. Ultimately, aside from being able to meet my basic needs, my circumstances are not that important. It won’t be anything monumental. Especially to anyone else.

The first entry? “There are less ants on the toilet and that makes me happy.”

Note: First, as with most of my posts, I wrote this entry last week and I’m just now posting it. I have one week left in this location and it has been a blast! My next entry will be photos from sites around Bhubaneswar–today we went to the Tribal Museum and tomorrow we’re going to a temple and Puri (a beach).

About mollyocon

I am a PhD student in history and philosophy of education, with an MA in international politics. I love exploring cultures, the arts, literature, history (especially of the Oklahoma variety), travel, and people. Please follow my blogs: The Wanderlust Traveler, creator and primary blogger Past blogs: Spiritual Uprising Magazine, Blog, and UP Ministries, co-founder (the blog is now defunct, but past issues of our e-magazine can be found here: http://www.kaitlynwilly.com/spiritual-uprising-magazine.html) IPSO AU, administrator Arts and Entertainment at the University of Dallas, creator/primary blogger "I wanted to live deliberately, I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, To put to rout all that was not life and not when I had come to die Discover that I had not lived." --Henry David Thoreau "I get up every morning determined to both change the world and have one hell of a good time. Sometimes this makes planning my day really difficult." --E.B. White

Leave a Reply

